• OUR WINE IDENTITY
  • OUR WINE IDENTITY
  • OUR WINE IDENTITY

THE TERROIR

The soil composition of the vineyards terroir offers many diverse properties, be it gravel, sand or clay, enabling the establishment of an entire range of emblematic Bordeaux grape varieties.
The estate vineyard is made up of six different blocks of vines planted in the midst of the Commune of Léognan, on the gravel residue left by the old river, that used to flow through the village, called l’Eau Blanche.

There are 44 hectares of vines, with an average age of 20 years, which constitutes the vineyard of Château Haut-Bergey and certain parcels of vines are even 60 years old.

2 HECTARES OF A WHITE WINE VARIETY COMPRISING
Sémillon (18%)
Sauvignon Blanc (82%)


42 HECTARES OF A RED WINE VARIETY COMPRISING
Merlot (43%)
Cabernet Sauvignon (43%)
Cabernet Franc (8%)
Petit Verdot (5%)
Malbec (1%)

Paul GARCIN

Managing Director

A great wine should tell the story that originates within it’s soil, together with the people who create it.

Sensitive to the most diverse forms of creative expression, Paul Garcin explores a continuing path of creativity, throughout his work with wine. After an excursion into the worlds of cinema and music, he joined the family business in 2007 and in particular Château Haut-Bergey where he spent most of his adolescence. Aware of new experiences, he developes his own personal taste in wine by working directly in the vineyard. Driven by the inspiration of wine growers throughout France, he shapes his own experience with the commitment, pleasure and sharing of values and respect for the land.
Mindful of the organic approach to wine making, as introduced to him by his wife, a trained nutritionist, he was quickly drawn towards the environmental and bio-dynamic considerations of those people he meets, who appreciate and undersatand what they drink.

« Finding the bench mark between a good wine and a great wine is much more based on an emotional view than an organoleptic one. That emotional and satisfying bench mark, I have only ever experienced in the tasting of bio-dynamic wines. »

His responsibilities and the importance of ‘a hands on’ approach to wine making has convinced him to live directly on the premises. He lives next to the Château, with his wife, his greatest support and their two children and he spends his working life shared between the vineyards and the chais.

When in 2014 he became head of Château Haut-Bergey, he restructured and strengthened the team as part of his new vision of the domain and it’s wines. He achieved his vision of an organic product in 2015 and put his idea of bio-dynamic wine making throughout all the vineyards in 2016.

As a true mark of it’s authenticity, Château Haut-Bergey was honoured with the organic and bio-dynamic certification AB and Demeter in 2018 and Biodyvin in 2019, making it the first property of the appellation to be certified bio-dynamic.

ANNE-LAURENCE DE GRAMONT

Director of Wine making

Using biodynamic methods is a procedure that demands careful attention, precision and discipline.

« Biodynamic cultivation, gives us tools that help a wine makers knowledge, gained from a peasants natural wisdom and it is a method that demands attention, precision and discipline. »

Anne-Laure de Gramont, a young engineer in viticulture and oenology and a certified oenologist – DNO, arrived at Château Haut-Bergey in 2014, having been trained in the wine regions of Champagne, Maury, Sauternes and in New Zealand and California. After her first experience, working in an organic vineyard, without the use of any chemical products, her positive attitude to organic production of wine, convinced Paul Garcin to give her the role of wine making director.

As from 2015, she began introducing organic methods of wine growing to the entire vineyard.

Conscious of the movement for biodynamic cultivation, she is deeply respectful of nature’s rythmns, the return to the study of plants and the complete involvement of the wine maker with his land. A conclusive test on half a hectare, run by a closely knit team of experts in 2016, determined the complete conversion to biodynamic principles at Château Haut-Bergey.

Biodynamics introduces a greater flexibility in organising the schedules for preparation of the daily and monthly key moments, throughout the year. The right mind set is essential and a positive mind set must always be connected to the ‘doing’ of the work. This point is central to her work and ideas as she welcomes, with pleasure, the same group of seasonal harvesters, each year « for the meaning that they find, as they work ».
Determined and confident, she works to reveal the authenticity and reality of the wines, she loves, at Château Haut-Bergey.

François PROUTEAU

Maître de chais

What is important in the way one developes a vineyard is that, in the end, everything should turn out to be exceptional - but that I think, is the work of a life time.

When he arrived, in 2012, at Château Haut-Bergey, Francois Prouteau had, already worked for three years on the Garcin estate.
With his past viticultural origins at Bonnezeaux in the Anjou region and a family education concentrated around wine, his interests in making wine and how and where the vines grow, started early in his life. As a red wine enthusiast and in a search of new horizons, he moved to the Gironde in 2008, to follow a BTS viticulture and oenology course, as well as studying for a Quality licence at L’Institut de Vayres. Via the BTS work and study programme, he got to know the Garcin family properties well, by working, throughout his studies at their Rive Droite holdings at Pomerol and Saint Emilion.

Freshly graduated and just as the former maitre de chais had departed, he was asked to ensure the development and continuity of the work at Château Haut-Bergey. At this point, in 2012, he engaged a new team and since then, he has never looked back.

He has experienced the changes driven by Paul Garcin, with whom he shares, the same taste for wines that express the land from which they come. From this approach, there emerged a new vision which enables him to develop a more personal wine making method, guaranteeing truly authentic, pure and fresh tasting wines.

Conscious of the necessary time needed to guarantee all of the benefits of biodynamic wines, he fully realizes the changes that need to be made within a team of people. It is, a particularly small and cohesive team – unusual for an estate of over 40 hectares, which enhances the timeless conception of the world of wine – professional and friendly, if not family-minded and dedicated to precise research and the pleasure of sharing.

• IDENTITÉS
  • IDENTITÉS
  • IDENTITÉS

LE TERROIR

Le morcellement du terroir offre une grande diversité de sols (graves, sables, argiles) et d’expositions, permettant l’implantation de l’ensemble des cépages emblématiques de Bordeaux.
Le vignoble du domaine se compose de 6 îlots implantés au cœur de la commune de Léognan, sur les croupes graveleuses dessinées par l’ancien lit de la rivière traversant le village, l’Eau blanche.

41 hectares de vignes d’une moyenne d’âge de 20 ans composent le vignoble du Château Haut-Bergey. Certaines parcelles atteignent 60 ans.

2 HA DE CEPAGES BLANCS
Sémillon (18%)
Sauvignon Blanc (82%)


42 HA DE CEPAGES ROUGES
Merlot (43%)
Cabernet Sauvignon (43%)
Cabernet Franc (8%)
Petit Verdot (5%)
Malbec (1%)

Paul GARCIN

Directeur général

Un grand cru se doit de raconter l’art qui se cache en son terroir et les hommes qui le façonnent.

Sensible aux formes les plus diverses de l’expression artistique, Paul Garcin trouve dans la créativité du travail du vin un véritable territoire. Après une incursion dans le cinéma puis la musique, il rejoint les domaines familiaux en 2007, et plus particulièrement le Château Haut-Bergey où il a passé une grande partie de son adolescence. Soucieux d’expériences, il développe sa formation par la dégustation, en autodidacte et sur le terrain. Porté par l’implication de viticulteurs passionnés rencontrés dans la France entière, il forge son expérience sur les valeurs de l’engagement, du plaisir du partage et du respect du terroir.
Sensibilisé très tôt à la question de l’approche biologique par son épouse Marilène, diététicienne de formation, il est vite séduit par les orientations écologiques, et surtout biodynamiques, de ceux qu’ils croisent et dont il apprécie les vins.

« La différence entre un grand vin et un très grand vin s’est révélée pour moi un petit cap qui se jouait non plus sur l’organoleptique mais sur l’émotionnel. Un cap d’émotion et de vibration que je n’ai éprouvé, presque exclusivement, que dans des vins en biodynamie. »

Sa responsabilité et l’importance d’une présence sur place le décident à vivre sur la propriété : avec son épouse qui est son grand soutien et leurs deux enfants, il partage au quotidien la vie du vignoble et des chais.

Lorsqu’il prend la tête du Château Haut-Bergey en 2014, il renouvelle et de resserre l’équipe dans le cadre d’une vision nouvelle du domaine et de ses vins. Il opère la conversion au bio en 2015 puis fait le choix de la biodynamie sur l’ensemble du vignoble dès 2016.

Cap de la concrétisation des efforts et de la reconnaissance, la certification bio et biodynamique (AB et Demeter en 2018 et Biodyvin en 2019) fait du Château Haut-Bergey la première propriété de l’appellation certifiée en biodynamie.

ANNE-LAURENCE DE GRAMONT

Directrice de culture

La biodynamie est une démarche qui demande énormément de présence, de précision et de rigueur.

« La biodynamie nous donne des outils qui ont un lien avec le bon sens vigneron, le bon sens paysan. C’est une démarche qui demande énormément de présence, de précision et de rigueur. »

C’est après une formation en Champagne, Maury, Nouvelle-Zélande, Californie et Sauternais qu’Anne-Laurence de Gramont, jeune ingénieure en Viticulture et Œnologie et détentrice de son DNO, arrive Château Haut-Bergey en 2014. Une première expérience dans un vignoble bio, un goût pour les vins justes et un souci affiché de conduire un vignoble sans produits chimiques ont immédiatement convaincu Paul Garcin de lui confier le poste de directrice de culture.
Elle opère dès 2015 l’expérimentation de l’agriculture biologique sur la totalité du vignoble.

Sensibilisée dans le même temps à la biodynamie, elle est profondément séduite par le respect des rythmes de la nature, le retour à l’observation des plantes et l’implication totale du vigneron dans son terroir. Un test concluant sur un demi hectare, conduit en équipe serrée, détermine la conversion intégrale en biodynamie dès 2016.
La biodynamie implique une grande flexibilité d’horaires, pour l’élaboration des préparations dont elle s’occupe comme pour leur passage à des moments clés de la journée et du mois, tout au long de l’année. L’état d’esprit est primordial, et l’intention positive doit toujours être liée au geste. Ce point lui est essentiel et elle voit avec plaisir les mêmes groupes de saisonniers revenir chaque année, « pour le sens qu’ils y trouvent ».
Déterminée et convaincue, elle œuvre pour retrouver en Haut-Bergey l’authenticité et la typicité des vins qu’elle aime.

François PROUTEAU

Maître de chai

Ce qui est important dans la façon de développer un vignoble, c’est qu’à la fin, tout soit exceptionnel. Je pense que c’est le travail d’une vie.

Lorsqu’il arrive en 2012 au Château Haut-Bergey, François Prouteau a déjà travaillé durant 3 ans au sein des Vignobles Garcin.
Des origines vigneronnes très anciennes à Bonnezeaux en Anjou et une éducation toute familiale au monde du vin lui ont donné très tôt le goût de la nature. Amateur de vins rouges, et désireux de voir d’autres horizons, il s’installe en Gironde en 2008 pour suivre un BTS Viticulture et Œnologie à l’Institut de Vayres, suivi d’une licence Qualité. Par l’alternance, il rencontre les propriétés de la famille Garcin et tout au long de ses études jusqu’en 2011, travaille dans le cadre des domaines de la Rive droite, à Pomerol et Saint-Emilion.
Fraîchement diplômé, à la faveur du départ du maître de chai, il est sollicité pour assurer une transition au Château Haut-Bergey. C’est ainsi qu’il intègre l’équipe en 2012... pour ne plus la quitter.

Il vit alors les changements impulsés par Paul Garcin avec lequel il partage un même goût pour les vins qui expriment leur terroir. De cette approche naît la nouvelle vision qui est à l’œuvre et lui permet de développer une vinification plus personnelle, garantissant des vins épurés et frais, véritablement authentiques.
Conscient du temps nécessaire pour goûter la totalité des bienfaits de l’approche biodynamique sur les vins, il apprécie pleinement les principes d’échanges qu’il vit au sein de l’équipe. Particulièrement restreinte et soudée, atypique pour un domaine de plus de 40 ha, elle rejoint exactement sa conception historique du monde du vin : professionnelle et amicale, voire familiale, dédiée à la recherche de la justesse et au plaisir du partage.